A love story with no end and no beginning

My health is still not conducive to my posting as often as I’d like, but after I got an email today with a link to this, I was super-excited and wanted to share. Check out the brand new music video for my girl Lykke Li single’s, “I Follow Rivers”. It’s romantic, it’s sinister, it’s very much the direction of this upcoming album, I think.

She makes an appearance herself in the video, trekking across a desolate winter landscape. She’s literally willing to follow her love to the edge of the ocean. The moodiness of the piece is great, and I love the passion and the desperation of the ending, and how she first appears cloaked in black. Neat to think how the video uses negative space as contrasted to the use of open, echoing space in her music. You know.

The video was directed by Tarik Saleh, and stars Lykke Li along with the Swedish Lebanese actor Fares Fares. Lykke claims at her site that

Following the footsteps of Andrei Tarkovsky’s “The Sacrifice”
it is shot on the magic island of Gotland, Närsholmen to be specific.

I’m just going to put it out there that I love her. Not so much Tarkovsky, in general however. I recently watched Solyaris and I couldn’t dig it.

Tags:

One Comment to “A love story with no end and no beginning”

  1. Her look at the end was so haunting! If you liked Fares Fares, I highly recommend checking out the film Jalla! Jalla!, which was directed by Fares’s brother Josef. It’s very difficult to find Stateside, but if you manage to find it, I think it’s worth checking out. http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0269389/

Leave a Reply

