Janelle on the Grammys News

I usually don’t get too worked up about awards shows, other than getting the chance to see my favorite celebrities dressed up and in the same room (the Oscars being the obvious exception to the rule, as you’ll see when February rolls around and I have a party/live-blog). I do like seeing who’s performing on the Grammys, however. I checked out a list that was just recently released and it makes me want to watch, though the Grammys are my least favorite awards show of all.

There’s Justin Bieber, whom I’m not concerned about because his thin juvenile voice/antics do nothing for me as a twenty-two year old woman, and Usher, which could be promising only if he sings the brilliant “DJ Got Us Falling in Love Again”, Katy Perry and Eminem, whom I actively dislike for their life choices and might switch off while they’re onstage, and Lady Gaga and Muse apparently? I know I still sound disappointed but it’s because I haven’t gotten to my favorites who make the whole show worthwhile: Bruno “Golden Pipes” Mars, ARCADE FIRE, Cee Lo Green (too bad we cannot get to hear “Fuck You” in the only proper way), and best of all my personal (s)hero Janelle Monáe. JANELLE IS ON THE GRAMMYS! Apparently she is also performing with Bruno Mars. I am trying to think about how wonderfully their voices will blend together and not start softly crying to myself.

I won’t cry.

I won’t.

Here’s a partial list of nominees and who I wish would win:

Album of the Year:
# The Suburbs – Arcade Fire
# Recovery – Eminem
# Need You Now – Lady Antebellum
# The Fame Monster – Lady Gaga
# Teenage Dream – Katy Perry

Song of the Year:
# “Beg, Steal or Borrom” – Ray LaMontagne
# Forget You” “Fuck You” – Cee Lo
# “The House That Built Me” – Miranda Lambert
# “Love the Way You Lie” – Eminem feat. Rihanna
# “Need You Now” – Lady Antebellum

Record of the Year:
# “Love the Way You Lie” – Eminem feat. Rihanna
# “Nothin’ On You” – B.O.B. feat. Bruno Mars
# “Forget You” “Fuck You” – Cee Lo
# “Empire State of Mind” – Jay-Z feat. Alicia Keys
# “Need You Now” – Lady Antebellum

Best New Artist:
# Justin Bieber
# Drake
# Florence + The Machine
# Mumford & Sons
# Esperanza Spalding

This is Sophie’s Choice right here.

Best Rap Album:
# The Adventures Of Bobby Ray – B.o.B
# Thank Me Later – Drake
# Recovery – Eminem
# The Blueprint 3 – Jay-Z
# How I Got Over – The Roots

The Roots wouldn’t be a shabby win either. They need to get real with Blueprint though.

Best Contemporary R&B Album:
# Graffiti – Chris Brown WHAT IS THIS DOING HERE
# Untitled – R. Kelly
# Transition – Ryan Leslie
# The ArchAndroid – Janelle Monáe
# Raymond V Raymond – Usher

Best Pop Performance By A Duo Or Group With Vocals:
# “Don’t Stop Believin’ (Regionals Version)” – Glee Cast
# “Misery” – Maroon 5 most brilliant pop track of the year!!
# “The Only Exception” – Paramore
# “Babyfather” – Sade
# “Hey, Soul Sister (Live)” – Train

Best Pop Collaboration With Vocals:
# “Airplanes II” – B.o.B, Eminem & Hayley Williams
# “Imagine” – Herbie Hancock, Pink, India.Arie, Seal, Konono No. 1, Jeff Beck & Oumou Sangare
# “If It Wasn’t For Bad” – Elton John & Leon Russell
# “Telephone” – Lady Gaga & Beyoncé
# “California Gurls” – Katy Perry & Snoop Dogg

Best Dance Recording:
# “Rocket” – Goldfrapp
# “In For The Kill” – La Roux
# “Dance In The Dark” – Lady Gaga
# “Only Girl (In The World)” – Rihanna
# “Dancing On My Own” – Robyn

Brilliant category.

Best Rock Performance By A Duo Or Group With Vocals:
# “Ready To Start” – Arcade Fire
# “I Put A Spell On You” – Jeff Beck & Joss Stone
# “Tighten Up” – The Black Keys
# “Radioactive” – Kings Of Leon
# “Resistance” – Muse

Who will probably win? Eminem for everything, sending me into a spiral of rage for the next week.

(Source)

The 53rd Annual GRAMMY Awards will take place in Los Angeles at Staples Center on Sunday, Feb. 13, 2011, and will air live on the CBS Television Network from 8–11:30 p.m. (ET/PT).

Leave a Reply

